A Mile Wide and an Inch Deep

It’s been too long since I posted. What good is a learning tool if you don’t us it, huh? I think the problem is that I’m trying to write too much. So this is my last lengthy posting. After today, I’ll concentrate on jotting down the small steps I make along the journey.

 

I’ve been thinking about depth versus breadth. Which is the better way–learning a lot about a few aspects of photography and mastering those things, never even trying the others, or dabbling a little bit in all aspects of all photography, getting to learn many of the different things it has to offer, but mastering none?

Well, neither, really. Or maybe some of both, with a shift from the later to the former.

I’ve been concentrating for a couple of years on just learning to use my camera—first a Nikon D70, now a Nikon D200. I have tried to become adept at using depth of field and shutter speed by adjusting them manually rather than using a aperture or shutter priority or program mode. I’ve worked with all the various modes of light metering and focusing. I’ve attempted to learn the limits of the sensor in terms of resolving high contrast edges. I’ve concentrated on learning what effect each of my lenses gives, and tried to identify which circumstances each is best suited for. I’ve used my Sekonic L-758 light meter to train my eye to recognize the differences in light in terms of f-stops.

I’ve taken classes on studio lighting, Photoshop and digital printing (which I’m in now). And I’ve read several books on workflow and digital asset management. I’ve purchased a powerful computer and a high resolution monitor.  I’ve done all of these things because I know that the first barrier to expressing a vision is lack of technical skill to do so.

 

My goal is to add layers of complexity to the entire process, from developing an eye for composition and experimenting with different personal styles, to shooting for both color and B&W prints, to learning natural and artificial lighting, to exploring the various forms of photography, including macro, street, nature, studio, fine art, portrait and more.

 

Currently I am concentrating on the things I know the least about in the lifecycle of creating a photograph—Photoshop and digital printing. When I get to the point that I can make a photograph all the way through from idea to finished print, I’ll go back through each step, adding more depth to my understanding and skills. Maybe some day I’ll focus, and start to get depth, rather than only breadth, but for now, this is the only way that feels right.

 

2 responses to “A Mile Wide and an Inch Deep

  1. Hello I checked your pics on Flicr and you have some stunning images, but they are almost too perfect, they look textbook and when I read your blog they seem to be just that: photo assignments from classes.
    Take more stuff you want to, with digital you have the greatest ability to experiment. I loved the originality of the shadows on the red wall, the humour in the story the slide show told, almost an animation!
    Keep up the good work, but don`t think so long on each shutter press, just enough to get the light right, the frame right but but get lost in the reasoning, go with your gut instinct of what will make a good picture because you have the skill that is clear.
    Take care..you an interesting blog with enough jeolousy inducing pictures to make me glad I found you and get back to work making my photos.
    Damon

  2. Damon, Thanks for the comments and the compliments on my photos. It’s nice to get some feedback.

    It’s funny that I struggle to practice “letting go” during a photo session and yet want to be more in control of my shots at the same time. I’ve decided, (as I wrote in my next post “Calling The Shot”, that a good way to reconcile these two interests is to spend more time up front, getting to know my subject. Then, when I’m ready to shoot, I can feel my way through the shot from a gut level, since I know what I want to say about the subject. Perhaps this approach will help me spend less time trying to come up with a “clever” perspective, and more time getting lost in the moment.
    Phototyro

Leave a comment